2013 Golf Season Wrap-Up – 2014 Goals

Looking at the advanced weather forecast for the D.C. area in December, I see nothing but cold and wet.  There is no more golf to be played in 2013, so it’s time to call it a season and review the yearly KPIs.  The data:

Year

Number of Rounds

Scoring Average

GIR

Putts per round

2013

40

80.25

8.15

32.35

2012

34

78.85

8.74

31.88

2011

35

79.60

8.74

32.86

2010

28

79.54

8.32

32.14

2009

27

78.22

8.70

31.81

On thing that immediately jumps out is the consistency of results from year to year, especially with ball striking (8 GIRs) and putting (32 ppr).  While average score nosed up a bit in 2013, the most positive takeaway is the steady increase in number of rounds.  I am playing more golf!  Despite the slight bump in scoring average, my handicap  remained at 5 and what’s painfully evident is that at mid-single digits, the effort to shave a couple strokes off requires a level of play and practice that is difficult to devote to.  This is probably true of most weekend players, or at least those with a handicap below 20.  Have you experienced this?

2013 was also a transition year.  Early in the spring, I was in a prolonged slump, primarily due to the lack of play during the preceding fall and the change to new irons and wedges.  I did not get comfortable with the equipment until early July and then I sustained a hip injury that set me back another three weeks.  But upon returning, the quality of my ball striking improved which was largely due to the fitness work I had done while recovering and the concentrated drilling to correct my spine angle problem.  Thankfully, the improvements continued through the end of the year and I continue to work the hip and back exercises as well as the spine angle drill.  I’ve also fallen in love with the Mizuno JPX 825 irons and Cleveland G16 wedges, but it took some time.

2014 is going to play out differently.  I am transitioning into a new job which will require my undivided attention in the early part of the season.  I doubt that the new gig will afford the opportunity to take two week-long golf trips that I managed in ’13, but I will attempt to make it to the 12-round slug-fest over six days in early June in Myrtle Beach.  I learned this year that play was more important than practice for me, and will continue to leverage that as much as possible, but may not be able to squeeze in the late day emergency nines with the new job.

So for 2014 I’ve set some modest but achievable goals.

  1. Get stroke average back under 79
  2. Get GIR average to 9
  3. Get PPR in the 31.5 – 32.0 range
  4. Keep working out three times per week

What are your goals for 2014?

About Brian Penn

Avid sports fan and golf nut. I am a lifelong resident of the Washington D.C. area and love to follow the local teams. Also worked as a golf professional in the Middle Atlantic PGA for several years and am intrigued by the game to no end. I love to play and practice and am dedicated to continual improvement.
This entry was posted in Instruction and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to 2013 Golf Season Wrap-Up – 2014 Goals

  1. Good Luck with your goals for next year, and also with your new job. My golfing goal for 2014 is to get back down to 12. It’s harder than you think, but you have to have a goal that at first glance appears to be just out of reach.

  2. Brian, Kudos on the consistency year to year on your game. That is very impressive. As you look at your scoring goals for 2014 have you given any thought to any mental game type goals for each round? When I made a swing change last season I struggled a lot with managing expectations on the course and once I knew that my GIR or Putting goal per round was shot I lost all focus. It also made golf a lot less fun. I switched to a few less tangible goals like: visualize and commit to each shot, never give up on a round, be aggressive on every putt, pick specific targets, etc and it really helped me forget about the numeric goals. It actually helped me enjoy golf a bit more too and at the end of the season I hit a lot of my numeric scoring goals. Just something to think about in case you are looking for another approach to your goal setting.

    • Brian Penn says:

      Yes, I see some of what you indicate with the GIR and putting metrics go south during a round and have thought from time to time not to keep them at all. Maybe it would free up my brain to focus on just getting the ball in the hole with the fewest strokes possible by any means. I haven’t committed to that yet; probably because I have such a good bank of data. When you changed focus away from the greens and putts, did you still keep the stats or completely table the concept? Thanks, Brian

      • I still kept the stats, but I tended to do it after the round and not during the round. Initially I was worried about how well I would remember each hole after the round was complete, but I was shocked at the level of detail I remembered about each and every shot once the round was complete. Some of my best GIR and Fairway rounds were rounds that I didn’t think were that special. I only noticed the improvement once I counted it all up at the end. Also, I try to have someone else keep score for our group when we play so I’m not constantly pulling out a scorecard and looking at where I stand.

      • Brian Penn says:

        I think that makes sense the more I think about it. Greens and Putts are merely a distraction. I’d like to adopt the Seve mindset and exercise my creativity on the course and just get the job done. Will give this some more thought in prep for springtime. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

