Getting wedded to length

Recently, a friend loaned me a Big Bertha FT3 driver.  When hit well, this club delivers 20-30 yards over my Taylor Made R7.  How enticing to play from areas of the course not previously visited!  Next time out, I found myself hitting this weapon on shots that normally called for placement and adopting a go-for-broke mentality with all my clubs.  At the end of the day, I had jerked my swing completely out of my comfort zone and littered my card with bogeys and doubles.  Next time to the driving range, I still was preoccupied with length and found myself hitting driver to the point of exhaustion.

The lesson here is that it’s difficult to play to a different personality.  Normally, my approach is reserved and calculating, and I’m very careful about picking my spots to be aggressive.  In short, I’m not wedded to length and while I did bust a couple very long ones, I need to resist the temptation to always pull driver and remember to get the ball in play.

Looking forward to my round on the 4th of July and yes, I’ll still be playing the FT3 but will be armed with an attack plan that balances risk with reward and allows me to play to my personality.  Update coming after the round.  -Wish me luck!

About Brian Penn

Avid sports fan and golf nut. I am a lifelong resident of the Washington D.C. area and love to follow the local teams. Also worked as a golf professional in the Middle Atlantic PGA for several years and am intrigued by the game to no end. I love to play and practice and am dedicated to continual improvement.
This entry was posted in Instruction, Opinion and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Getting wedded to length

  1. brianpenn says:

    Was hitting the FT3 solid today but with a pull and was also pulling every other club in the bag, but I’m sold on this FT3 as a permanent replacement for the R7. As soon as I can fix this latest swing flaw, watch out!

Leave a Reply

