Golf tips – what’s the best and worst?

On a recent business trip, I pulled out the latest Golf Tips magazine and scoured cover-to-cover looking for that elusive nugget to give me an edge.  This being their “100 best” issue, I was certain I would find the treasure I was seeking but quickly realized how insanely conflicting the information in a single magazine can be.  Anyone without a serious understanding of the fundamentals can get terribly confused by the plethora of opposing opinions and methods.  Consider the best and worst of what I found.

The best:  🙂

John Stahlschmidt, PGA professional at the Tour Academy in Scottsdale, AZ advises on improving feel for speed on lag putts:  “Take one or two practice strokes and hold your finish for the amount of time you think it’ll take the ball to arrive at the hole.”  Great simple tip for improving feel, eliminating a jerky stabbing motion and promoting an accelerating move; all key essentials.  I’ve been putting scared lately and am certain I’m having troubles with trusting my feel for distance.  Rather than trying to make everything, I’m thinking about avoiding the three-putt.  I implemented this drill today on the practice green and got that refreshing boost of confidence you enjoy when a missing fundamental clicks; you know the feeling.

The worst:

WARNING:  MAY BE DANGEROUS TO YOUR GAME

The recoil bunker shot.    Open the blade, make contact, and recoil for buried lies in a bunker, with a tight pin; are you kidding?  I don’t care that this was recommended by Briny Baird, you don’t publish this in a magazine for the general public and I’m surprised a teaching pro (Jon Paupore) from a Jim McLean golf school is advocating.  Even the video is contradictory as he hits toward a pin with plenty of room to run the shot out- just awful.

About Brian Penn

Avid sports fan and golf nut. I am a lifelong resident of the Washington D.C. area and love to follow the local teams. Also worked as a golf professional in the Middle Atlantic PGA for several years and am intrigued by the game to no end. I love to play and practice and am dedicated to continual improvement.
This entry was posted in Instruction, Opinion and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Golf tips – what’s the best and worst?

  1. Brian, I got a really good practice tip a while back that always helps me out whenever I feel like I am making poor contact. I was told to place 10 tees in the ground at the practice range and go through my routine and full swing cutting each tee in half. Don’t take any divot, just hit the tee in half. After al ten swings put a ball down and swing away. I was blown away by how great the contact was and how repeatable the drill was throughout the bag. Wedges to driver it works. Check it out.

  2. brianpenn says:

    Do you put a single tee in one at a time and repeat 10 times or line 10 up next to each other and swing away clipping each while taking a mini step forward? One of my faults is losing my spine angle on the downswing and I’ve been instructed to work on taking a divot. I’m Interested to know what mechanical fault this is supposed to fix before trying. Or is it a rhythm thing? Any idea or do you have a link to a video for this drill?

  3. One long line of 10 tees lined up next to each other. I am not 100% what mechanical fault it is supposed to fix, but I use it as a warm up or if I feel like my contact is trending down. I got the tip from Lance McWillams (Twitter handle @ZoomBoomGolf) and I am sure he would be willing to explain more about it if you are interested. If it helps I actually noticed my divots were better after doing this drill than before. It is a strange feeling at first but the improved contact was undeniable for me.

Leave a Reply

