2012 Golf Season – Great Opening Day!

Teed it up today at my local muni to get the season underway  and if today’s round is an indicator of things to come, it’s going to be a great year.  I’ve been working on conditioning as part of my 2012 improvement plan and was just dying to battle test myself and boy did I come through.  Normally on opening day, I tee it up with no swing thoughts and no expectations and just try to bang the rust off, but today was different.  Along with the exercise program, I was armed with new short game and putting techniques, courtesy of Stan Utley, and was testing out my spankin’ new Bushnell V2 rangefinder and there were no disappointments.

On the exercises; the most useful was the opposite end swings designed to build club head speed.  I found these awkward at first but noticed after a couple weeks that my finish was much more in balance with 90% of my weight correctly distributed on my left foot and my body was fully rotated.  Today I came out of the chute with an aggressive move and felt in balance the whole round.  My short irons were dialed in but more importantly, I was taking big solid divots flying straight at the target, which were inconspicuously missing last year when I was pulling up and out of my spine angle on the downswing.  The feeling of balance and ability to go after the ball was exciting, and at the end of the day, I had 10 GIR and had rolled in three birdies – exceeding any and all expectations.    Yes there was rust, and I still need work getting comfortable with the new pitching techniques, and just to keep it real, I left the course with a slow burn about a missed 4-footer straight uphill for birdie on #18. :(

There’s snow in the forecast for tomorrow and it might be a short while before I play again, but this early taste of success was important because it validated the hard conditioning work I’ve been doing for the last month.  Again, the target this year is to play twice per week and practice less, and I can’t wait to exercise tomorrow!  See you in the gym.

About Brian Penn

Avid sports fan and golf nut. I am a lifelong resident of the Washington D.C. area and love to follow the local teams. Also worked as a golf professional in the Middle Atlantic PGA for several years and am intrigued by the game to no end. I love to play and practice and am dedicated to continual improvement.
This entry was posted in Opinion and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 2012 Golf Season – Great Opening Day!

  1. Great stuff Brian! Glad to hear you are off and running. Hard work pays off and it sounds like your move away from Stockton was a great call.

  2. brianpenn says:

    Trying not to get too excited because it was just one round, but I am excited. You can tell the difference from just a good ball striking day where you simply “had it” that day to when a fundamental kicks in. This was the latter and reminded me a little of my first lesson with a pro when I realized what it was like to actually hit a golf shot flush compared to a beginner hack swing.

    The move to Stockton was the wrong one for me because it’s too mechanical. I’m a feel player and any move that substitutes mechanics for touch generally hurts me. The Utley book has been a godsend. Thanks for the feedback!

  3. Good news Brian, I have had a good start to the season myself, and can not wait to get back out there. It has been raining for a couple of days !! and this is our summer in NZ

  4. brianpenn says:

    You just started playing golf in your summer time? What have you been doing all this time? LOL!

Leave a Reply

