What Are The Odds?

Golf is a game renown for different outcomes for virtually every stroke, putt, chip, and game situation.  Repeating the same behavior is nearly impossible and the funniest thing happened to me over the last couple of days.  On Friday, I was playing an emergency nine after work at my local muni.  On the par-4 8th hole, I laid up off the tee for position with a 3WD, and placed the shot perfectly in the fairway.  My red Titleist #1 golf ball was clearly marked with two blue dots, but a playing partner mistakenly hit my ball on their second shot.  Yesterday, on the same course, I again took 3WD for position, but this time off the par-4 9th.  Again I piped the shot, and again a different playing partner hit my ball for their second shot.  It was the exact same Titleist #1 with the two blue dots.  What are the odds?

The only other instance that comes to mind was several years ago when I was playing Whitetail Golf Club in Bath, PA and had selected a 7-iron on the 152 yard par-3 11th.  I landed the shot inches from the hole but a significant amount of spin backed the ball off the front of the green and down into a ravine; lost ball.  I re-teed my provisional and changed to a 6-iron.  My shot landed on the back of the green and backed all the way to the front and into the hole for a par and pseudo ace.

Sometimes this is a very strange game.  Any weird repeating outliers ever happen to you?  Please share, thanks!

About Brian Penn

Avid sports fan and golf nut. I am a lifelong resident of the Washington D.C. area and love to follow the local teams. Also worked as a golf professional in the Middle Atlantic PGA for several years and am intrigued by the game to no end. I love to play and practice and am dedicated to continual improvement.
This entry was posted in Opinion and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to What Are The Odds?

  1. Brian,
    Tough way to make a par! It reminds me of Fred Couples doing the exact same thing…..I still think it is a whole in one….actually, it is more exciting!

    cheers
    Jim

    • Brian Penn says:

      Jim, the funny thing was those shots were into the sun and it was difficult to see. The only thing I observed was the first rolling backward into the ravine. Never saw the second one land or go in. The ball marks on the green told the story. Thanks!

  2. Kind of like my hole in one haha

    • Brian Penn says:

      Yes, I remember you describing your mulligan ace, nice! You are young and a very good player and will probably make several over your lifetime. I’ve had one ace on a first ball in my nearly 40 years of playing and it was in 1983, but I can remember it like it was yesterday. I think another blogger (Vet4golfing51) has made five or six aces when we last discussed the topic; incredible! Thanks.

  3. Reblogged this on Julia Ford Golfs and commented:
    A quality golf blog somewhat similar to mine

  4. When I was a member of a club we had a member that was famous for hitting the wrong ball. He did this at least once a month. The best was when he hit another players ball on the green. The other player said ” Well George you did again” George replied “I know I left it short”. The other player said” No, you putted my ball”. That is my best hitting the wrong ball story.

  5. That is bizarre it happened back to back days like that. Were your playing partners way ahead of you and playing ready golf? Find it strange they just walked up and hit your ball without first identifying it or were there multiple balls in similar positions? The only thing I have seen along these lines is playing with a guy who was beyond struggling on a hole. After two shots OB near the driving range he “found his ball” and played out of the trees. As he picked his ball up out of the hole I noticed it was clearly marked as a range ball. More of a case of good old fashion cheating rather than miss playing a ball.

    • Brian Penn says:

      On both days, I was the only member of the foursome that was on foot. Everyone else was riding and in both cases, they arrived well ahead of me. Maybe I need to add one of those cheesy monograms on my golf balls. In any case, I’ll continue to walk when I can. Strengthens the injured hip area, and God knows, I need the exercise. Thanks!

  6. Hey Brian,

    great website!

    One time I was playing nine holes at Randall Oaks GC in Chicago and I hit a 7-iron on one of the par 3’s and I hit a shot which landed on the green and was on the left side of the green and then after I was done with the round I decided to sneak and tee it up again on that hole (The second hole) and hit a 7-iron again and it landed in almost the same exact spot again and of course I missed both putts lol.

    Hey Brian, feel free to visit my site at http://gpgolfreport.com/

    Thanks a lot!

Leave a Reply

