Better Late Than Never?

Has this ever happened to you?  You are in the throws of a terrible range session leaving yourself physically and mentally spent and then you find something on the last ball?  What do you do?

It happened to me last Saturday.  I was looking at dead yanks with everything from the short irons to the driver.  I had started out working the Nine-Shot drill but had to abandon as the controlled fades became straight yanks and the draws were pull hooks.  Finally at my wits end, I tried something that worked and nutted a driver dead straight on the last ball.  How many of you would chalk it up to a random cosmic accident and head for the parking lot and how many would go buy another bucket?  As it turned out, I was exhausted but with the prospect of teeing it up the following morning and having to sleep on such an awful session, my curiosity got the best of me.  I went up and down the line scarfing a couple balls here and there from my fellow range rats; just enough to validate.  Turns out the swing fix straightened out the driver but not the irons.  Better late than never?  Absolutely!  I feel it’s essential to leave the course after play or practice with some form of hope that tomorrow will be better than today and it worked.  My round the following day was a solid ball striking one propped up by a mix of drivers, 3WD, and 3-irons off the tee.  Definitely a more conservative approach than normal, but there’s a lot to be said for getting the ball in play when you’ve got swing foibles as serious as I had lurking just beneath the surface.

What’s your strategy for playing after a shaky range session?

About Brian Penn

Avid sports fan and golf nut. I am a lifelong resident of the Washington D.C. area and love to follow the local teams. Also worked as a golf professional in the Middle Atlantic PGA for several years and am intrigued by the game to no end. I love to play and practice and am dedicated to continual improvement.
This entry was posted in Instruction and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Better Late Than Never?

  1. Brian

    That is a tough one! Personally, I would do the same thing you did. Acquire a couple balls to see if what was fixed was actually fixed. However, I would not go get another bucket or even a small bucket. I figure 5-10 more balls would be proof enough. The challenge for me would be to remember that success the next day. Obviously, it was not a problem for you!

    Cheers
    Jim

    • Brian Penn says:

      Ha, thanks Jim. I wrote it was curiosity that made me stay, actually it was more like desperation. I think I was closer to heading into the clubhouse for a couple beers than trying to fix my move. Got lucky this time!

      Best,

      Brian

  2. I always like to leave with good thoughts, especially with putting practice, make sure your last couple of putts fall in the cup. Dont walk away after missing a few, sink a couple and get those good thoughts in your head.

Leave a Reply

