Yesterday I Chipped In!

In the holeIn the long road back from the chip yips, I hit an important milestone yesterday; I chipped in.  I’m not sure if the chip yips afflict you at 50, but I’ve been struggling around the green since I turned 51 in 2012, and yesterday’s lob wedge from a gnarly lie came as a huge relief.  It’s been so long since I chipped in (years) I can’t remember the last time.  In fact, it’s felt like years since I hit a good chip.

Late in 2015, I had been contemplating taking short game lessons but then during a December practice session, I made a mental change to my pre-shot routine and a technique change.  The mechanics are weird and a little unconventional, but were born from a tip I read by Seve Ballesteros on controlling the shots with your right hand.  I do believe the closer you get to the green, the more individualized your game can become, as long as you get the ball in the hole.  So I will continue with this method and hopefully eradicate whatever had infected my short game.

Can I pronounce myself cured?  Heck no, but I can feel the confidence returning.  Yesterday, we played at Little Bennett.  The greens were fast and the pins placed in diabolical positions with several bordering on unfair.  Getting close to the hole with any club, including the putter was extremely difficult.  In short, this was an awesome test for short game.  Because of the pin placements, up-and-down stats were not a true reflection of performance so I rated my performance on chips/pitches that I hit like I wanted to.  I was 5 for 9, but more importantly, I was able to rehearse the shots and execute without angst or feeling defensive.

It’s a rare day that you shoot a bad score and come away from the golf course feeling inspired.  The rebuild is starting to work!

Play well and Happy Easter to all!

About Brian Penn

Avid sports fan and golf nut. I am a lifelong resident of the Washington D.C. area and love to follow the local teams. Also worked as a golf professional in the Middle Atlantic PGA for several years and am intrigued by the game to no end. I love to play and practice and am dedicated to continual improvement.
This entry was posted in Opinion and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Yesterday I Chipped In!

  1. Brian

    Awesome news! I am looking forward hearing about your short game successes! Happy Easter to you as well.

    Cheers
    Jim

  2. Wayne Halm says:

    Aloha Brian,

    Congratulations. Happy to hear it. Little puts a swagger in a golfer’s step like confidence in the short game.

    A Hui Hou,
    Wayne

  3. Hey Brian,

    I am stoked to read this! Keep this shot on the forefront of your mind when you think about your short game. I am sure this will be the start of great things this season.

    Cheers!
    Josh

    • Brian Penn says:

      Josh, I was shocked when it went in LOL! And then two holes later I hit a good pitch from farther away to tap in range so I began to get some confidence back that has been missing for a long time. I’ll keep working the technique which seems to be the answer for now. Thanks!

      Brian

Leave a Reply

